Forever is a Lie

Published October 8, 2013 by sidmary

( I wrote this for an exam for descriptive writing. so the following tends more towards description that narration. The reader is most welcome to attach to it any story that his/ her mind may fancy πŸ™‚ )

“Forever is a Lie,” they say, but it depends mostly on intention. I look around at the lonely, desolate expanse around me. It is bare and brown as far as the eye can see; varying shades of brown: a dusty brown at the ground; a slightly darker, watered brown near my feet…The occasional color is in the delicately placed flowers in the position afore mentioned- and a dulling, browning green on the few trees scattered here and there. Even the walls of this wide enclosure are brown, and color lives primarily on the sky which, too, now its losing its azure to a stormy gray.

There are mounds here. Human sized, horizontal mounds rising gently from the ground and falling back onto it symmetrically. Occasionally, the eye spots a mound smaller than the rest, and the lonely heart spins another grieving story over my own.

A browned, autumn leaf is blown gently to my feet by a highly compassionate, or else greatly sadistic wind. It is hard these days to figure out who is sincere and who makes fun of you- but this leaf reminds me that I have to leave. So I do.

They buried him here last month. My son- who promised that lively summer day that he will stay by me forever. He must have believed, as conventional, that parents die before the offspring- but again: ‘Forever is a lie.’

I am a few feet now from the most beloved mound of earth, but I can not see it except for a blur of brown topped with white, red and green. The leaf chases me with an urgency- the wind is perhaps my friend, after all.

So I carefully maneuver round the other such stories- all colored the same brown now. I step out of the enclosure into an impatiently waiting, black Corolla, and fall limp on the passenger seat. My walking stick rests idly and upright next to the perfect smoothness of the dashboard. Everything here in fact is smooth: the driver’s face, my wife’s expression, the cover of the seats, the rolled up windows- the only exception being my rough, shattered heart…

The road is smooth too, and following it, we head out of the city which I promised my son I would never leave. I promised I would stay here forever, and yet I leave here forever, because forever is a lie.

The graying clouds gather overhead at last. I can not hear them past the closed windows, but I can see them- and they gather, not stormily, intimidatingly, or frighteningly, but gloomily. And I can hear them now, pelting raindrops on the windshield, and the roof, and somewhere deep down, on my broken self…

In this tumultuous monotony, I leave…

–Sidra Maryam

15 comments on “Forever is a Lie

  • Just like everything else you write: Purrrfect! πŸ™‚
    You seem to have the Midas touch..whatever topic you touch, turns to gold
    PS: how much did Ms Farah give you for this, btw? a 29.5? :p

    • lol…i’ll take that as a compliment ignoring the fact that midas suffered heavily because of his talent πŸ˜‰
      p.s. nopes…25. shes ms farah teh.. πŸ˜› but im happy ^_^ if something you write can make you cry yourself when you read it, it is enough to make you happy πŸ˜‰
      p.s.s. no bragging πŸ˜‰

  • Most of your writings deserve applause.Sweeping statements like these need a lot of research .In limited circle of school it is okay .but when observed and weighed with global SPECTACLES, it is questionable and many authors and poets who spent their lives advocating FOREVER may be pulsating in their graves.Of course , the earth, the stars,the planets .the vegetation and the animals will perish but we, the humans the super species will be in ecstasy in Heaven or in agony in hell,FOREVER. ALLAHO AKBAR.

  • Leave a Reply

