Closed Eye: The Breaking of a Heart

Published August 2, 2012 by sidmary

I meant this blog for creative words. Words that form beautiful pictures, serene sounds and soft smells…

I meant this blog to write about a dewdrop on the petal of a flower and the tear drop between the lashes of an eye…

I wanted to write about the delicate being and the delicate feelings of those homo sapiens…

I wanted to write about children and laughter and happiness and nature…

I wanted to write about the musings on ordinary things and the making of extraordinary ones…

I wanted to write about my city, and my country, and my history, and the people of my world…

I wanted to write about everything I love…

But this world is a cruel world that I live in:

It breaks into my dreams and my musings and my passions, and robs from them all the delicacy and innocence that hang on to…

This world has double standards for everything I love…

It treats the powerful with more honesty than is honest, and the weak worse than animals…

Its authorities fuss over things that hardly matter and ignore massacres and genocides…

Its Ambassadors of human rights play chess pieces for the Veto powers and silent audience for Muslims…

Its Buddhists who preach that no ant be killed murder thousands rendered more helpless than ants…

Its NGOs which fight for food, shelter and safety for all sleep tight when comes the call to fight by the people at this side of the world…

Its people who raise the dead protesting against breaking of idols opt silence as lives break away from the tentacles of this world…

Its saints who don’t eat meat for fear of hurting animals disown, dislocate, starve , torture and rape people helpless…

This world has two eyes, and ones remains eternally closed…

A massacre continues in Syria as a massacre inaugurates in Burma…

It leaves me desperate…

It leaves me exhausted…

It gives fire to my passions…

And power to my pen…

I have a big heart- It shelters the whole world…

And my heart is breaking into bits…

NOTE: Please raise a voice against the genocide of Rohingya Muslims in Burma (Myanmar). When the media and authorities opt for silence, it becomes a duty unto every citizen- every “citizen of the world” to speak against oppression. Don’t keep quiet. It was them this time, and “you” are a “them” for them…It could be “you” next time.

–Sidra Maryam

 

13 comments on “Closed Eye: The Breaking of a Heart

  • Reblogged this on Randomlyabstract's Blog and commented:
    Addressed to people of all religions and all countries!
    kindly give this a read!
    Imagine a country where innocent lives are being brutally killed, and nobody is raising their voices.. Who will stop this violent massacre of Muslims in Burma?
    Do YOU want peace? Will YOU raise your voice against this bloodshed?

  • Absolutely stunned at the cruelty going on in Burma.
    However, even in our country, we continue to persecute the minorities, maybe in not such a heinous and open manner but it’s there. And while everybody rants and hollers about the crimes going on beyond our borders, we tend to forget what sort of issues plague our own land.

    • I tend to disagree. of course we remember: we remember what happens around us before we remember what happens beyond. I can speak that at least for the compassionate people I know. The thing is that nation and country is a boundary made by people and for Muslims, all the world id one, and all the world is God’s. (I hope you understand that philosophy). Thus, a Muslim cannot confine himself or limit himself to boundaries. When you think as a Muslim, and you are thus thinking as a human, you think of the whole world. Your thought is universal, and you care for every one indiscriminately of race, color, caste or creed…

      • I actually agree with what you’re saying, but I fail to see how we remember what is happening around us. I see a headline of 27 shias being killed in a bus. In our country. Solely because of someone’s display of bigotry, who were trying to be perfect Muslims.
        Our country is no different from what’s going on in Burma.

      • at least we have the freedom to build and live in houses of cement, and at least we can lock our homes and live without perpetual fear. I think that n spite of all, we are faring way better than Burma…perhaps a good majority of us failo to see what is happening beyond their homes, but people remember too. They do. And its these people that we depend on ads a nation…

    • I agree with Sidra. There is remembrance in Pakistan, too much, all the time. Sit in school and the there will be someone next to you desperately trying not to mention the latest bomb blast. Come home, and your mother’s urging you to pray for the country, and the deceased and their families. Turn on the television and the news crew is talking so hard and fast that their voices blur. Switch to a religious channel and you can see the duas and the ‘hum pay azab araha hay” speeches. Heck, even morning shows preach tolerance-tolerance these days.
      Pakistan does remember. We mourn every single day.

      PS: A word to the wise – bigotry is awful-horrible-reprehensible, yes. And it’s damn annoying-angering-sad-bloodboilingly furious that people die just ’cause some idiot is too narrow-minded and stupid to learn acceptance and respect for everyone’s right to believe what they want – BUT Pakistan ( and Muslamaniat) is dangerous to a lot of people, and remember, there are external forces that exploit this … uh..uneducatedness (um yeah, not a word) to serve their purposes. Not everything’s a Pakistani’s fault. There are so many outsiders blaming us for so much wrong with the world, I think we should stop blaming our own selves too much and believe the best of our people. (The oppressed will always believe the worst about themselves. ― Frantz Fanon)
      END RANT 😛

  • Heeeeyyyy, Assalamualaikum.
    Our mothers are friends.
    Plus, you are a really good writer (I think you already know that but well, some times obvious things have to be said too). Keep up the work!
    Hope to be blogger friends with you.
    Tayyaba

  • Leave a Reply

