The Door

Published June 14, 2012 by sidmary
English: A door that leads nowhere! A mysterio...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There is a door on the sidewalk

That appeared one day

As I passed it;

And I hurriedly passed it by.

.

Each day as I walked that route

I felt time running out

As I neared the door.

I had to reach my destination.

.

Yet as I scurried, flurried,

I never once missed

observing the door well.

It never failed to catch my eye.

.

Fearfully I avoided it,

Yet every time I had gone on,

A wave of regret and guilt

Never failed to wash me out.

.

It took great courage and guts

To open that door one day.

I hid my watch the night before

And left time somewhere in the way.

.

There was nothing extraordinary behind the door:

A sense of home,

A feel of warmth.

But I was glad I had taken the chance.

.

For if I had not opened the door,

And left for some far-distant place,

The chance having missed me,

Would it have been my life regret?

–Sidra Maryam

3 comments on “The Door

  • Leave a Reply

