The Final Race

Published December 19, 2011 by sidmary

She was my best friend, and we enjoyed a lot. We played and we raced. Yes raced. We raced in everything. We raced when we ran. We raced while eating, and we raced in marks. But I always won.

I sometimes gloated at my quick-wittedness, and she would smile; in fact, we would both smile. But now we do not: It happened last summer. She won the ultimate race to the final destiny. I wished I was with her. How could it be that she raced ahead and if not ahead of her, I did not match her every step? But then, we were miles away from each other; in two different cities, when the earthquake struck, and took her away with it.

She won the final race, and left me behind. But this time, only she smiled. I did not. I could not accept one defeat, where she had smiled at many.

 

Sidra Maryam

6 comments on “The Final Race

  • Leave a Reply

